The Horror of Young Hair Loss: You are not Alone

11 thoughts on “The Horror of Young Hair Loss: You are not Alone”

  1. Hey man, I enjoyed reading this. It was nice to be reminded that I’m not the only one and I really liked how you shared just how damaging to our self esteem going bald at a young age can be. I’ve been in a hat for the last 10 years.. damn near EVERY DAY. I’ll bet I’ve spent less than 48 hours in public without a hat in the past decade. I’ve been rocking a receding hair line since I was about 19 or 20. Fortunately, I’m in my 30’s now, so I feel that it’s more acceptable for me to be seen hatless. Still tho, my 20’s were hard. I remember I got kicked out of the bar I was at on my 20st birthday because they changed their hat-policy once the band went off stage. I stepped out for, literally, like 3 min and they wouldn’t let me back in unless I took off my hat and I got belligerent with the bouncers and that was that. Those days sucked. Anyway, I’m 31 now, and take care of myself and I look better than I ever have. So, if anyone out there reads this, just know that it can get better. It can be a tough road, but things don’t have to be tough forever. Again, thanks for the article. It was a good read for me.
    -B

  2. This article really made me feel a whole lot better. I am 20 years old and I’m experiencing hair loss. I am using medication, but some can be expensive. It has totally effected my self-confidence. I wear a cap everyday when I go out. I don’t have a bald spot, but my hair is thin and it has lost its natural style. I used to take a lot of care. Making sure not to scratch my head when I’m washing it, not using heat, tap the hair with towel to dry, using the right shampoo, and using hair mask every now and then. I watched YouTube videos on how to style my hair, what products to use, then I started losing hair and it was blow to the face out of nowhere. Four months after my 20th birthday my hair suddenly started to thin and fall. I went to dermatologist and she told me it’s genetics from the way my hair is thinning. I tried to hold my emotions back after the doctor but then I burst into tears in front of my mom. I am continuing with my medication and I’m fortunate enough that I have money and a supportive family. I am considering a hair transplant in the future, though.

    This was a great read. Thank you.

    1. Yeah, you are the few that can afford that option. Make sure to consider the risks of a hair transplant when you are 20. It’s very likely that you’ll get a transplant and continue to lose hair.

      Have you tried shaving clean to see how it looks. Check out sly bald guys when you get a chance, it might not be as bad of an option as you think. A shaved head is pretty stylish these days.

  3. I know this is easier said than done. But if you start to lose your hair, no matter what age you are, you need to completely shave it off. I’m talking Mach5 razor it down so not even peach fuzz is showing. That is what I did the moment I went slightly receeding and bald. I refused to ever walk around with 3/4 or 1/2 a head of hair. It’s all or none with me. The key is to OWN it. Never try and cover it up with a hat (unless you are in the sun, of course, or if its real cold out). Never be ashamed. Just own it. Never talk about it unless someone brings it up just laugh it off and say you love it. Trust me it’s a non issue if you just own it. Sure, it’s easy for me to say cuz I started going bald at 27. But I think you should not worry about going bald. Just shave it all off, maybe even grow a beard. Why not?

  4. Bro I took the time to read your article and say this to you: . You’re a sad looking fuck. You’re not a pussy, you’re a man. Be a man, shave of those last hairs and grow a beard. Be confident, It will be hard, yes, but by looking at your face it will suit you. Women don’t fall for guys with hair, they fall for guys with confidence. So shave of those hairs, grow your beard, hit the gym and be a badass, cause you can.

    1. I feel you, although I disagree that being open about how hair loss makes me feel makes me a “pussy” as you so aptly described me.
      This is one facet of hair loss and it’s written for young men who need to know other people understand what they are going through.

      The initial shock of hair loss is brutal.

      Most people who don’t go through hair loss at a young age.

      I think shaving a growing a beard and being a badass is always sound advice! Thanks for believing in my face shape and head!

Leave a Reply

